All About Testing at LRNTMS


Indiana Learning Evaluation Assessment Readiness Network (ILEARN) measures student achievement and growth according to Indiana Academic Standards. ILEARN is the summative accountability assessment for Indiana students and assesses:

  • English/Language Arts (ELA) (Grades 3-8)
  • Mathematics (Grades 3-8)
  • Science (Grades 4 and 6)
  • Social Studies (Grade 5)
  • Biology (High School)
  • U.S. Government – Optional (High School)
NWEA’s assessments are called Measures of Academic Progress (MAP®). When taking these computerized adaptive tests, the difficulty of each question is based on how well a student answers all the previous questions. As the student answers correctly, questions become more difficult. If the student answers incorrectly, the questions become easier. In an optimal test, a student answers approximately half the items correctly and half incorrectly. The final score is an estimate of the student’s achievement level.
I AM (Indiana’s Alternate Measure) is an accountability assessment for students with significant cognitive disabilities in grades 3–8 and high school. I AM is an accessible assessment developed by educators and tailored to student needs that measures student achievement according to Indiana’s Alternate Academic Standards or Content Connectors. The primary mode for administering I AM is through the online Test Delivery System (TDS). I AM is a stage-adaptive untimed assessment delivered in a one-on-one setting by a classroom educator.


The W-APT (WIDA ACCESS Placement Test) is most often used as a screening test to determine the language level of students entering a school system.



  • Is administered to Kindergarten through Grade 12 students who have been identified as English language learners (ELLs)
  • Is given annually to monitor students' progress in learning academic English
  • Meets U.S. federal requirements of the Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) for monitoring and reporting ELLs’ progress toward English language proficiency
  • Is anchored in the WIDA English Language Development Standards
  • Assesses the four language domains of Listening, Speaking, Reading and Writing